New calibratable LED norm-light source available – go green!

LacunaSolutions.com is a newcomer in the market of norm-light sources, it offers with its SmartLightningSystem the first LED based Norm-light source where not only the brightness but also the color temperature can be controlled! The innovative Norm-light solution, which has been developed by the company in its entirety, is based on a combination of 6 different LEDs in one “light board”, a hardware controller and software. The software is available for Mac OS X, Windows and Linux and will set any color temperature between 3500 and 12000 Kelvin , UV-Content and a luminance up to 2200 Lux, achieving its goal precisely using a common spectrometer.

The system generates the chosen illuminant, using a warm white, cold white, blue, green, violet and UV (360nm) LED. In contrast to common fluorescent tubes a much more harmonic and complete spectrum is created (see graph) which leads to a more natural and more even color representation. The graph shows an example, the intensity of the spectral components can be adjusted continuously. The color rendition is far better than with conventional neon light technology or so called HighPower/High CRI LEDs. There is also no more need for a hybrid system that mixes two different light sources.

By using a 400nm and a 360nm UV LED the system achieves the old as well as the new ISO standard 3664. The UV components can even be altered in intensity. Changing tubes or waiting for them to warm up is a thing of the past. There is also no more need for the purchase of several different viewing booths for different color temperatures.

By replacing fluorescent tubes we have the following advantages:

– smaller footprint
– very little heat
– reduced energy consumption
– extremely long lasting light sources
– reach the desired color temperature without warm up time
– ability to control both luminance as well as color temperature
– no drift of the light quality throughout all luminances
– enhanced spectral quality (HIGH CRI 90-98)
– supports old and new ISO standard

spd

Besides the classic usage in the graphic arts or at the retouching workstation there are new possibilities for this light source. LacunaSolutions has successfully tested the system as “photo lights” for product and portrait photography. Initial tests at dental laboratories, instrument builders and art restoration showed the superior light quality and color fidelity of the system in color critical applications.

In order to support the different requirements and to fully exploit the potential of this excellent light there are several different variations:

– as a workstation fixture on a swivel arm (SLS-Desktop)
– as a ceiling fixture in 1200cm length (SLS-Designer)
– as a monitor hood with integrated Norm-light (SLS-Monitor)
– as a standard viewing booth (SLS-Viewing)
– as retro fit kit for existing solutions (SLS-Retrofit)

Especially the SLS-Monitor could mean the breakthrough for soft proofing technologies. “Light means color” – without a Norm-light a high quality and color correct simulation of print colors on the monitor is not possible. Because the “light hood” can be easily adjusted in width to fit 23 to 27 inch monitors it is the perfect addition to a high quality – preferably hardware calibratable – monitor.

The first software manufacturer to integrate the support of the SmartLightning System into its soft proofing system is Remote Director, in order to control all the lighting conditions. For users of other systems (Adobe Photoshop, Artcom, etc.) they can achieve the same goal with the included “SmartLightning System” software. This software even allows a visual comparison, so that you can decide whether you want to adjust the white point of the monitor to the light or the light to monitor. In this scenario you can either use the “light hood” or the overhead fixture.

Last but not least we would like to present the fact that the SmartLightning System is FOGRA certified:
According to the Fogra-Expertise Nr. 24863 we are happy to announce ISO 3664 compatibility for our LED based daylight system. Our SmartLightningSystem matches for condition “P1″ and “P2″.

The investment in a Norm-light system is well worth it, because you can avoid mistakes during the production, you have new possibilities for quality control and the system will serve you for many years to come. In the end you will just save money with it.

“We are proud to be able to offer such a new and innovative solution to the market!”

Follow the path of the light and try out new ways with us … test our solution.

Das SmartLightningSystem ist das erste auf LEDs basierende Normlicht System das sich nicht nur in der Helligkeit sondern auch in der Farbtemperatur und dem UV-Anteil regeln lässt! Diese innovative und ganz von Lacunasolutions entwickelte Normlicht-Lösung basiert auf einer Kombination von 6 verschiedenen LEDs in einem „Lightboard“, einem „Hardware Controller“ zur Ansteuerung und einer Software. In der Software – welche sowohl für Mac OSX, Windows als auch Linux verfügbar ist – lässt sich eine beliebige Farbtemperatur zwischen 3500 und 12000 Kelvin, den UV-Anteil und eine Helligkeit von bis zu 2200 Lux einstellen und mithilfe eines handelsüblichen Spektralfotometers zielgenau kalibrieren.

Das System generiert, basierend auf warmweissen, kaltweissen, blauen, grünen, violetten und UV (360nm) LEDs die gewählte Lichtart. Im Gegensatz zu den handelsüblichen Leuchtstoffröhren wird dabei ein weitaus harmonischeres und vollständigeres Lichtspektrum erzeugt (siehe Abbildung), was zu einer natürlicheren und gleichmäßigeren Farbdarstellung führt. Die Grafik ist exemplarisch – die Stärke der spektralen Anteile lässt sich beim SmartLightningSystem stufenlos regeln. Die Farbdarstellung ist bei weitem besser als das bisher unter konventioneller Neon-Licht-Technologie oder so genannten HighPower/High CRI LEDs möglich gewesen ist. Auch das Mischen von beiden Lichtquellen (Hybrid-System) in einem System entfällt damit. Mit dem System sowohl die neue als auch die alte ISO-Norm 3664 realisieren. Der UV Anteil lässt sich dabei sogar in der Intensität regeln.

Der Wechsel von Leuchtstoffröhren und das Warten bis diese „warm gelaufen“ sind gehören der Vergangenheit an. Die Anschaffung mehrerer Normlichtkästen/Leuchten ist nicht mehr notwendig.
Der Verzicht auf Leuchtstoffröhren bringt viele Vorteile:
– Geringere Bauhöhe
– Sehr geringe Wärmeentwicklung
– Geringer Stromverbrauch, Energieeinsparung
– Extrem lange Lebenszeit der Leuchtquelle
– Erreichen der Farbtemperatur ohne Aufwärmphase
– Steuerbarkeit des Lichts in Helligkeit und Farbtemperatur
– Keine Schwankung der Lichtqualität über alle Helligkeiten hinweg
– Wegfall der Alterung
– Verbesserte Spektrale Verteilung (HIGH CRI 90-98)
– Anpassbarkeit an die alte und neue ISO Norm

spd

Neben dem klassischen Einsatzgebiet in der graphischen Abmusterung oder am Retusche Arbeitsplatz von Lithografen/Fotografen gibt es weitere Einsatzgebiete für diese Lichtquelle.
So hat die LacunaSolutions auch die Verwendung als „Foto Licht“ für Produktfotografie und Portrait erfolgreich getestet. Erste Versuche bei Zahntechnikern, Instrumentenbauern und Restauratoren haben gezeigt, dass auch hier die Qualität und Farbtreue des Systems entscheidende Vorteile bei der täglichen Arbeit bei farbkritischen Anwendungen und Arbeiten bringt.
Um den verschiedenen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden und das Potential dieser exzellenten Lichtquelle voll auszuschöpfen gibt es mehrere Einbauvarianten:
– Als Arbeitsplatzleuchte mit Schwenkarm (SLS-Desktop)
– Als Deckenleuchte mit 1200cm Breite (SLS-Designer)
– Monitor Lichthaube mit integriertem LED-Normlicht (SLS-Monitor)
– Als klassischen Normlichtkasten (SLS-Viewing)
– Als Nachrüst-Lösung für bestehende Beleuchtungssysteme  (SLS-Retrofit)

Gerade das SLS-Monitor könnte den Durchbruch für Softproofing Technologien bedeuten.
„Farbe sind Taten des Lichts“ (Goethe) – ohne genormte Lichtbedingungen ist eine qualitativ hochwertige und farblich korrekte Simulation von Druckfarben am Monitor nicht möglich. Da sich die Lichthaube ganz leicht in der Breite an 23-27 Zoll Bildschirme anpassen lässt, ist sie die perfekte Ergänzung zu jedem hochwertigen, am besten Hardware kalibrierbaren , Monitor.
Als erster Hersteller hat Remotedirector die Ansteuerung der SmartLigthning Systems in sein Softproofing System realisiert, um damit auch Kontrolle über die Lichtbedingungen zu erlangen.
Wer seine Arbeit auf andere Software stützt (Photoshop, Artcom u.a.) kann mit der gelieferten „SmartLightningSystem“ Software gleiches erreichen. Mit der gelieferten Software ist sogar ein visueller Abgleich möglich so dass der Anwender entscheiden kann ob er den Weisspunkt des Monitors an das Licht oder den des Lichts an den Monitor anpassen will. Denjenigen, den dabei die Lichthaube am Monitor stört kann seinen Arbeitsplatz auch mit der Deckenleuchte ISO konform ausbauen.

Zu guter Letzt sei noch gesagt, dass das SmartLightningSystem auch FOGRA zertifiziert ist:
Die getestete Leuchte erfüllt die normativen Vorgaben der für die kritische Abmusterung „P1″ sowie für die praktische Abmusterung „P2“ der in der grafischen Industrie maßgeblichen Norm ISO 3664:2009. Forschungsgesellschaft Druck e. V. (Zitat aus dem Fogra-Gutachten Nr. 24863)
Die Investition in ein Normlichtsystem lohnt sich, da dadurch Fehler in der Produktion im Voraus vermieden werden, Möglichkeiten zur Prognose und Qualitätskontrolle Einzug halten und das System durch seine Langlebigkeit viele Jahre seinen Dienst verrichtet. Faktisch spart man dadurch einfach Geld.

„Wir sind stolz darauf im Markt eine so neuartige und innovative Lösung anbieten zu können!“
Gehen Sie mit uns neue Wege und folgen Sie dem Pfad des Lichts … testen Sie unsere Lösung.

Alexander Demmler
(CEO LacunaSolutions.com)